Henna Review

As promised, I’m doing my henna review today. I’ve been thinking of dying my hair but I’ve been afraid of damaging my curls with chemicals.
Then I heard about henna. Here’s two naturals that took me to school about it.

http://kinkycurlycoilyme.com/is-henna-worth-it-you-decide/

http://www.curlynikki.com/2008/10/im-henna-head.html?m=1

The pdf on that curly nikki site is really good so go on and download it if you’re super interested.

Henna colours natural hair with a reddish tint but it takes several applications for you to witness results. I have hennad once before, it’s a tedious and messy process. But here’s the picture I found on Tumblr that got me back on that henna tip. I mean look at that. Isn’t it just gorgeous?

I bought this Muhendi henna from the Tuskys behind Archives in town for ksh 310. I read about the brand on the kurly kichana website.
image

I used this amount of henna because my hair is short. If you have longer hair, you’ll probably need to use more. I mixed it with half a cup of tea from two tea bags, a bottle cap of the Apple Cider, and juice from half a lemon.

image

image

image

These help extract the colour from the henna. I put in some honey too to make it easier to wash out and because henna tends to dry your hair. It’s actually also a protein treatment.

I let it sit overnight The longer you can do let it sit, the better. Here’s what it looked like the next morning

image

I spread it throughout my hair

image

and let it sit for a day AND a night –  determination has a face, and it’s mine 🙂

I washed my hair out next morning. My curl was definitely looser but there was no colour that I could see. My mother said it looked a bit like kwashiakor, so I took some consolation in that. Haha.
It felt brittle and I had to deep condition with my banana-avocado-honey mixture and it felt much better after.
Sadly I didn’t get any pictures but fear not! This will not be my last dalliance with henna. I’ll be sure to keep you posted, and next time I promise to have pictures. Take care of yourselves till then.

M.

#NaturalHairProducts #NaturalHairKe #KenyanNaturals #NairobiNaturals #HennaTreatment #ProductReview #NupurMuhendiHenna #Afroliciouske

One thought on “Henna Review

  1. Pingback: Henna | afroliciouske

Leave a Reply

