Chunky Twist out with Afrolicious’ s Raw Shea butter :)

Hi there! I’d said last week that I wanted to do a twist out with Shea Butter and compare it with one done with Eco Styler. I use both so I thought it would be a fun post to do, and I could compare the results for you girls.

Here goes…

Ecostyler results:

image

More details and tips on how I achieved this look are here.

Shea Butter results
First off, I was really excited about this because I was using the AfroliciousKe Shea Butter and I can tell you, nothing beats the feeling of knowing your product is good quality and easy to use (shameless plug. Lol) I’m in love 😍. Ok so here are the pics;

image

Steps I took;
1.
Cleansing my hair using baking soda (2 tablespoons:2 cup of water)

image

2. Detangle and Deep Condition:I used  the ORS replenishing conditioner as usual. Started off by sectioning my hair,apply the conditioner generously and detangling from edges to roots. At this point I added some Shea Butter because it’s a moisturiser and I figured it could enhance the conditioner effect. I left it in for the whole afternoon with a shower cap on, under the sun.

3. I rinsed it out and used a T Shirt to dry it (I left it a little damp for styling).

4. Whipped my Shea Butter with a fork and added a little avocado oil. Avocado oil is one of the few oils that penetrates into the hair strands easiest and is full of  nutrients our hair loves so I decided to whip me an Avocado Butter:):)
(P.S I’d have loved to post pics of that but I intend on doing a whole post next week on how to make your own DIY avocado butter like I did mine so stay tuned!!)
image

6. I did my two strand twist out and slept overnight in a satin bonnet.

See that??

image

Soft, healthy hair with a shine for days.
Curls were really well defined too, as I was going for thicker than last time’s.

DIfference between the two?
Main difference is the feel. Ecostyler gives a crunchier kind of twistout, which is not necessarily a bad thing. It lasts and looks good either way.

Shea butter gives a soft twistout which lasts just as long. I’m on day 3 and the style is still defined. All I need is my leave-in spritz and an oil for sealing in the moisture. I prefer to use a light oil e.g jojoba oil, coconut oil or almond oil. I currently have some jojoba oil in my spritz.

Any of you tried a twist out with Shea Butter? What was your experience? Do share. And to order some, contact us on 0725466132.

One thought on “Chunky Twist out with Afrolicious’ s Raw Shea butter :)

  1. Pingback: African Threading on my Kenyan hair 💁💁 | afroliciouske

Leave a Reply

