African Threading on my Kenyan hair 💁💁

What do you ‘No-Heat’ girls do to stretch your hair?  I’m a fan of bantu knots and twistouts(see here , here and here ) They have never let me down. But I woke up on Sunday feeling like I needed my hair stretched out for different styles within the week.My sister had bought the African thread  earlier

image

(4 bundles like the one above cost 500/=)
I was pretty excited to give it a try.
So on washday,

1.Baking Soda Rinse
To cleanse and clarify my hair.

2.Deep Condition
My ORS has been over for a while now so I decided to get a Creme of Nature Argan Oil Intensive Conditioning treatment
P.S. It smells amazing

image

I don’t think one is enough though :?:? I ended up mixing with the remaining ORS Protein pack from last month and some shea butter.

image

3.Detangling and rinsing
After letting the DC sit for around 2 hours, I rinsed while finger  detangling.

4.Moisturizing and Sealing
Applied the Cantu Argan Oil Leave-In Repair Creme.

image

Since we are giving whipped butters a try, we made one with some Shea Butter, Cocoa Butter, Jojoba Oil, Sesame Seed Oil and Peppermint Essential Oil.

image

Turned out so smooth and minty and delicious smelling mmmhh 😍😍

5.Threading
The threads were the perfect length for my hair plus you need less than one bunch.
I sectioned my hair, tied a knot on the end of one of the thread then tied it to the root and tightly coiled it on my hair until the ends,then made another knot.These were the results..

image

It took me around 45mins but I think it will take less time with more practice.Plus my sections were really small.

6.Taking down the thread
-I undid the knot at the end then uncoiled the thread.
-As usual, I put some Cantu leave in and sealed with beautiful textures Curl defining pudding .The results..

image

The joy in my heart!!! My hair was as stretched as when I had a braid out here

image

I even had better defined curls:D:D

Definitely a worthy investment!!

Here is an infographic of other hair stretching methods popular in the natural hair community. Whats your cup of tea?

image

PS. Since I had bought four bunches of the thread and only used less than one, I’m putting two up for sale at Ksh100 each. Holla at me if you’re interested. 0725466132

Xx
S.

Leave a Reply

